Freewrite~ What I learned and how I feel about discourses

I have learned that people cannot simply be categorized into a single Discourse, the terms jock, nerd, goth…etc, are somewhat irrelevant, and really only exist in fiction and media. I can use this information in this class while reading different works of literature. I can more accurately see the authors perspective, because I will understand more of what they are involved in. In life beyond university, I feel that I will become more open minded, and will think of people as people, we are complex individuals with many interests. If I were to describe myself, I could consider myself to be a “hippy, metalhead, artsy person, an explorer, a rebel, a nerd…” It gets rediculous, and I feel that these labels are inaccurate.

 

Leave a comment